Instant coffee · Practical guide
Nescafé Original vs Gold vs Azera: What the UK Evidence Says
We checked the sources on 24 October 2026. This guide may be published later; that doesn’t mean the product details were checked again.

Is Original, Gold or Azera highest in caffeine? The UK FAQ gives one shared range for Original and Gold, so it can’t pick a winner between them. It doesn’t give us an Azera amount in that answer. We’ll explain what you can compare without guessing the missing figure.
See the product details
| Product / serving | Caffeine | Whole-pack nutrition | Source and notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| NESCAFÉ OriginalUK · 2 g dry coffee; water not specified | 50–90 mgManufacturer range | Sugar amount unavailable Calories unavailable | NESCAFÉ UK FAQReviewed 2026-10-24. The brand gives this same range for Original and Gold. It doesn’t tell us which has more caffeine, or exactly how much is in your cup. |
| NESCAFÉ GoldUK · 2 g dry coffee; water not specified | 50–90 mgManufacturer range | Sugar amount unavailable Calories unavailable | NESCAFÉ UK FAQReviewed 2026-10-24. The brand gives this same range for Original and Gold. It doesn’t tell us which has more caffeine, or exactly how much is in your cup. |
| NESCAFÉ AzeraUK · Amount not available | Not verified — not zeroAmount not available | Sugar amount unavailable Calories unavailable | NESCAFÉ UK FAQReviewed 2026-10-24. The Original and Gold range doesn’t cover Azera, so we haven’t used it here. |
Can we actually compare all three?
To compare these jars fairly, we need the same sort of information for each one. Original and Gold share a range based on dry coffee weight. We don’t have a matching Azera amount. That leaves us without enough information to say which has most caffeine.
A shared range doesn’t mean every batch of Original and Gold is identical. It also doesn’t mean one sits at the bottom of the range and the other at the top. Giving them two exact bars on a chart would suggest a difference the brand hasn’t shown.
Check the full name on the jar
The jar name, decaf designation and market matter. A mixed latte sachet isn’t the same ingredient as a plain soluble jar, and a UK answer isn’t automatically an answer about a similarly named overseas product. Save the full name rather than a shorthand such as “Gold coffee”.
When using a manufacturer FAQ, read its actual scope. A nearby answer about sachets doesn’t extend the plain-coffee range to every product on the website. A decaf cappuccino sachet also can’t tell us a caffeine figure for a jar of decaf coffee.
Weigh the coffee, not just the water
Use equal weighed dry portions if you’re exploring how your preparation differs. Equal water volumes don’t show that equal amounts of coffee were used. A heaped spoon is particularly difficult to compare with a level spoon from another jar.
For personal logging, a measured dry mass improves repeatability even when the caffeine remains a range. It doesn’t turn that range into an exact result. Our instant-coffee guide explains the proportional calculation without replacing missing evidence with a midpoint.
Taste is a different comparison
Descriptions such as smooth, rich or intense can help someone choose a flavour. They aren’t units of caffeine. This article doesn’t claim to have tasted or independently tested the products, and it doesn’t rank quality from their caffeine information.
If you prefer one product, that’s a valid preference without a caffeine justification. Separate a sensory decision from a numerical one rather than turning marketing language into a dose estimate.
What would change this answer?
A current UK manufacturer statement identifying Azera, its serving and its measurement basis would allow an additional numerical row. A photograph of packaging may establish the exact variant and instructions, but not necessarily caffeine. A retail review or anonymous comment isn’t a substitute.
Until that evidence is available, use the unknown label honestly. Don’t interpret a missing amount as zero or as lower than the products in our database. Our request builder lists the details needed for a useful manufacturer enquiry.
Sources and things to keep in mind
We used AI to help write this guide. We haven’t tested or tasted these products, and the article hasn’t had an independent clinical review. Figures come from the links below. We point out examples, ranges and calculations, and leave missing amounts blank. This is general information, not medical advice.